Our People

Clare Watson - Artistic Director

Clare Watson - Artistic Director

Clare commenced in the role of Artistic Director of Black Swan State Theatre Company in October 2016 and made her directorial debut with Let the Right One In. Her other credits with the company since then include Our Town, Xenides, The Events, You Know We Belong Together and The Torrents. Previously, Clare was Artistic Director at St Martins collaborating with children and teenagers. Her recent work includes I saw the second one hit, Gonzo (Malthouse Theatre) and FITTER. FASTER. BETTER. (Dance Massive, Junction Arts Festival, Malthouse Theatre). She directed the critically acclaimed What Rhymes with Cars and Girls for Melbourne Theatre Company in 2015, which received four Helpmann nominations including Best Director. The production has recently enjoyed a national tour.

In 2014 Clare was Female Director-in-Residence at Malthouse Theatre and she is an MTC Women Directors Program alumna. Her stage credits also include Gonzo, I Heart John McEnroe (Uninvited Guests/Theatre Works – winner Green Room Award for Best Ensemble, and five nominations including Best Director); The Man with the September Face by Kylie Trounson (Full Tilt/Arts Centre); Smashed by Lally Katz (Stables); and Hotel (Melbourne Fringe Festival – winner Best Director). Her mainstage work has also included Lungs by Duncan MacMillan at Melbourne Theatre Company and The Events by David Greig for Malthouse and Belvoir, Sydney Festival and Adelaide Festival.

Clare is a graduate of Directing at the Victorian College of the Arts. She is a trained teacher and worked in high schools in Victoria for 15 years and was also Education Manager at Malthouse Theatre.

Rick Heath - Executive Director

Rick Heath - Executive Director

Rick Heath has over 30 years’ experience in the arts sector both in Western Australia as well as nationally. Raised and trained in Western Australia, Rick joined Black Swan after 12 years as Executive Director at Performing Arts Connections Australia where he delivered a national industry development remit.

As the Executive Director of PAC Australia Rick has been a strong advocate for the Western Australian arts industry. He’s delivered transformational change in the areas of organisational positioning, governance and business operations and has led industry-wide reform in national touring and presenting practice. As a fellow of the Devos Institute of Arts Management in Washington DC of which there are only two in Australia, Rick brings extensive experience in producing and executive leadership as well as a robust global arts network.


Ben Green - Workshop Administrator & Set Builder

Chantelle Iemma - Company Manager

Christie Sistrunk - Creative Learning Manager

Deanna Faust - Director of Operations

Emilie Monty - Ticketing Officer

Erin Howe - EA & Office Manager

Georgia Clark - Director of Business Development

Ian Michael - Artistic Associate + Curator - Maali

Irene Jarzabek - Public Relations Manager

Jenny Edwards - Costume Cutter

Jessica Knight - Associate Producer

Katie Gugliotta - Finance Officer

Katie Moore - Deputy Production Manager

Larissa Somm - Director of Marketing

Leah Royle - Philanthropy Manager

Les Hickford - Workshop Manager

Linda Pope - Ticketing Officer

Louise Coomber - Development Coordinator

Lynn Ferguson - Wardrobe Manager

Martin (Marek) Szyler - Scenic Artist

Olivia Atley - Marketing Assistant

Polly Low - Literary Director

Rachel Doulton - Ticketing and Data Coordinator

Sarah-Jane Watkins - Director of Finance

Stewart Campbell - Director of Production